Join Mailing List

Featured Release

There Are But Four Small Faces [2CD Mediabook]

Small Faces

There Are But Four Small Faces [2CD Mediabook]

click for more info

Order A Catalogue

Click here to order a physical copy of the catalogue

For all licensing enquiries please email:

For all sales and distribution enquiries please email:


  • Snapper Music
  • International Artists Records
  • Immediate Records
  • Club Soul

Townes Van Zandt
For The Sake Of The Song / Our Mother The Mountain [2CD]

For The Sake Of The Song / Our Mother The Mountain [2CD]




Townes Van Zandt's body of work has continued to grow in stature since his death, and latterly there has been a huge revival of interest in his records.  Van Zandt recorded eleven studio albums and a half-dozen or so live albums during his truncated career.  This is the first volume in a reissue programme which will re-release the best of these in deluxe CD mediabook format.

Produced by former Sun Records legend Cowboy Jack Clement and recorded in Nashville, in the fall of 1968, For The Sake Of The Song was Townes’ debut album.  It appeared on the tiny Poppy label, owned by Van Zandt’s manager, Kevin Eggers; however, it received no marketing support and subsequently achieved no commercial success.  Moreover, in an endeavour to present Townes as a wholly contemporary performer, it tried to encompass Folk, Country and Baroque Rock - Van Zandt himself later described the album as “Underground Country” - and as a result it was sometimes criticised as having been ‘over-produced’.  But in spite of its commercial feel, the songs shine through and Townes’ own vocals and acoustic guitar can readily be heard to good effect.  Three of the album’s strongest numbers - the title track, ‘Tecumseh Valley’ and the chilling ‘Waitin’ Around To Die’ - would remain in his repertoire throughout his life, the latter attracting more than twenty cover versions.

Van Zandt's second album, Our Mother The Mountain is widely acknowledged as his first classic.  Recorded in California in the Spring of 1969, once again produced by Jack Clement, it featured a stellar cast of West Coast session musos, notably James Burton, Charlie McCoy, Don “Richie” Frost and Don Randi.  Also released on Egger’s chronically under-funded Poppy label, it once again received no marketing support and was subsequently doomed to cult status, making minimal commercial impact. However, this time around the arrangements and production values complemented the songs pretty much perfectly, and the album was critically well-received.  Standouts were the much-covered title track; Townes’ epic re-recording of ‘Tecumseh Valley’ from his first LPwhich added a couple more verses and took it at a slower, more melancholic pace; ‘Second Lovers Song’; ‘Kathleen’ and ‘Be Here To Love Me’, the latter two titles also attracting plenty of cover versions.

Disc 1
For The Sake Of The Song

1. For The Sake Of The Song
2. Tecumseh Valley
3. Many A Fine Lady
4. Quick Silver Daydreams Of Maria
5. Waitin’ Around To Die
6. I’ll Be Here In The Morning
7. Sad Cinderella
8. The Velvet Voices
9. Talkin’ Karate Blues
10. All Your Young Servants
11. Sixteen Summers, Fifteen Falls

Disc 2
Our Mother The Mountain

1. Be Here To Love Me
2. Kathleen
3. She Came And She Touched Me
4. Like A Summer Thursday
5. Our Mother The Mountain
6. Second Lovers Song
7. St. John The Gambler
8. Tecumseh Valley
9. Snake Mountain Blues
10. My Proud Mountains
11. Why She’s Acting This Way

Release date: 16 June 2014 • available to pre-order now

For The Sake Of The Song / Our Mother The Mountain [2CD]

Click here to buy


New Releases